Book Review: Me Before You

Amazon Synopsis: “They had nothing in common until love gave them everything to lose . . .

Louisa Clark is an ordinary girl living an exceedingly ordinary life—steady boyfriend, close family—who has barely been farther afield than their tiny village. She takes a badly needed job working for ex–Master of the Universe Will Traynor, who is wheelchair bound after an accident. Will has always lived a huge life—big deals, extreme sports, worldwide travel—and now he’s pretty sure he cannot live the way he is.

Will is acerbic, moody, bossy—but Lou refuses to treat him with kid gloves, and soon his happiness means more to her than she expected. When she learns that Will has shocking plans of his own, she sets out to show him that life is still worth living.

A Love Story for this generation and perfect for fans of John Green’s The Fault in Our StarsMe Before You brings to life two people who couldn’t have less in common—a heartbreakingly romantic novel that asks, What do you do when making the person you love happy also means breaking your own heart?”

Length: 376 pages (Kindle edition)

Published by and date: Penguin Books on December 31, 2012

Destiny’s Thoughts

Where I found this book: My library has a connection to the OverDrive app that rents out ebooks. I wanted to try something a bit more mainstream than my usual random finds and I stumbled across this book. I had seen the movie and loved it (I’m pretty sure I would’ve cried at the ending if I hadn’t worked at the movie theater and watched the ending at least 20 times before I saw the whole thing). I’m always curious how close movie renditions get to the original.

How it’s written: It’s mostly from Louisa’s point of view but some of the chapters are from the view of other characters. The dialogue is witty and fun. All the characters are well developed and thought out.

What I like about this book: I really liked the inclusion of other viewpoints and this was a major difference from the movie. The movie mostly focuses on Louisa and Will but the book engages all characters involved more in depth.

As someone who is easily amused, I really related to Louisa. I found myself thinking how easily I could end up like her with a simple job and an easy relationship, never really pushing myself to try new things or go to new places. Unlike Louisa, my family isn’t comfortable with letting me stay home. They encourage me constantly to go out and see the world.

img_20171225_1240112065772106.png

Final Thoughts: I loved the movie and the book just fleshed out some new ideas for me. I finally understood Louisa’s hesitance to leave her small town and travel.

If you haven’t read the book, click here. And you can get the movie here too. You can also watch it for free if you have Amazon Prime.

If you’ve read the book, watch the movie, or both, feel free to leave a comment.

img_20171225_12431837373373.png

Jojo Moyes is still book touring so check out this page to see if she’s coming to a city near you. Also after reading some of the reviews, I’m fairly interested in the sequel to Me Before You, After You.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: